Learners Permit

To obtain an Ohio learners permit, you must be at least 15 ½ years old. A Parent or Guardian is required on the application if you are under 18 years old.

Steps on Getting a Permit

  1. Have (2) forms of identification (Acceptable indentification can be found on the Ohio BMV website
  2. Go to your nearest Driver Examination Station (We have Wayne, Holmes, and Ashland county stations listed to the right. For other station locations, visit the Exam Station Finder
  3. Take a Vision Test
  4. Take a Written Examination Test
  5. Cost of a temporary permit is $22.

In order to prepare yourself for the written examination test, you must study and learn The Ohio Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws. The Ohio Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws booklet can be picked up at any exam station. The Electronic Version is also available to download or view on the internet.

Test Your Knowledge

Insurance Info

It is good practice to shop and compare rates and policies before purchasing insurance. You may find other companies that have a better policy for your teenage driver.

Type of Car

Older cars and vehicles with a lower horsepower rating are commonly less expensive to insure for a new teen driver.

Good Student Discounts

Insurance companies will often award teenagers with good grades or who are on the honor with a discount on the premium. Teenagers with good grades tend to be viewed as more responsible.

Driving History

Some Insurance companies will offer large discounts for each year a driver goes without any incident. Encourage your teen to continue to drive safely.

Joint or Separate Policies

It is always good to consider many options before adding a teen driver to your current policy. Look to see which option is better, a joint policy or a separate policy for your teenage driver.